EYH Chicago was started in the spring of 2013 by a group of women from the Chicago STEM practitioner, educator and activist communities.  This year is our 10th EYH event, and we are thrilled to be introducing young women to the diverse STEM opportunities the Chicago area has to offer.

In 2020, Expanding Your Horizon’s Chicago partnered with TechBridge Girls, who now sponsor our organization!

EYH 2023 Organizing Committee

DirectorsWorkshops|Parent Program|Recruitment and Registration|Programming|Volunteers|Fundraising|Marketing


Celeste Rosencrance | Co-Director

Celeste Rosencrance is a PhD student in Microbiology and Immunology at Northwestern University. Her research currently focuses on nuclear organization and transcriptional regulation in the context of Human Cytomegalovirus infection. She is a WVU alumni and former 4H leader who is passionate about helping young women discover science. Outside of the lab, Celeste enjoys playing video games, wandering in nature, traveling, and exploring new cuisines.

Angela Barragan | Co-Director

Angela M. Barragan is a postdoctoral researcher at the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Chicago. She finished her Ph.D. in Physics in 2019 at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She enjoys leading elementary, middle, and high school STEM outreach activities and sharing science with the general public. Angela spends her free time with family and friends, watching superhero movies, cooking, dancing, visiting new places and restaurants, and reading about cultures, science, and education.


Cecily Choi | Workshop Co-Chair

Cecily Choy is a PhD student in the Human Genetics program at the University of Chicago. Her research interests intersect the fields of genetics and immunology, and she is fascinated by the role that genetics plays in immune response variation. Cecily is passionate about getting others excited about science and believes strongly in creating accessible opportunities to expose people, especially young girls, to STEM. When not in the lab, Cecily enjoys reading, trying out new food recipes, and being outdoors.

Sylvia Durian | Workshop Co-Chair

Sylvia is a PhD student in computational neuroscience at the University of Chicago. She is interested in using mathematical tools to explore and understand how the brain coordinates activity to perform processing and learning. She is passionate about inspiring young women in STEM and is excited about engaging young scientists in fun ways. In her free time she enjoys cooking, hiking, and traveling to new places.

Qiwen Dong | Workshop Co-Chair
Qi Zhan | Workshop Co-Chair


Tiffany Ge | Keynote
Ann Houlihan-Doyle | Day-of Food/Care Packages Committee

Ann is a Certified Public Accountant professional who believes in the power of promotion of STEM activities to young women. She attended UIC and obtained her Bachelor of Science in Accounting and her CPA thereafter.  She worked in public accounting as an auditor for 7 years, before crossing over to the private sector and becoming the Accounting Manager for a publicly traded company. Being involved in a STEM profession has brought many rewards and valuable life skills and she looks forward to teaching some of these skills to young women.

Recruitment, Registration & Volunteers

Maggie Steiner | Student Recruitment / Registration Chair

Maggie is a PhD candidate in Human Genetics at the University of Chicago where she studies population genetics and genomics. She graduated from George Washington University in 2020 with a BS in Mathematics and is passionate about supporting women in STEM careers. In her free time, she enjoys reading, trying new recipes, and spending time with her dog.

Alexis Thornburg | Volunteer Chair


Ann Mariam Thomas | Fundraising Chair


Amber Ravenscroft | Social Media Co-Chair

Didi Zha | Social Media Co-Chair

Rebecca Rassmussen | Website

See past organizing committees here: 2015 Organizing Committee2016 Organizing Committee, 2017 Organizing Committee, 2018 Organizing Committee, 2019 Organizing Committee, 2020 Organizing Committee, 2021 Organizing Committee, 2022 Organizing Committee